Case 3693: Cryptodacus Hendel, 1914 (Insecta: Diptera: TEPHRITIDAE): proposed suppression of Cryptodacus Gundlach, 1862 (Reptilia, Serpentes, COLUBRIDAE)

Publication Type:Journal Article
Year of Publication:2015
Authors:Norrbom, AL, McDiarmid, R, Chen, X-L, David, KJ, De Meyer, M, Freidberg, A, Han, H-Y, Hancock, D, Steck, GJ, F. Thompson, C, White, IM, Zucchi, RA
Journal:Bulletin of Zoological Nomenclature
Start Page:204
Date Published:09/2015
Type of Article:Case
Keywords:Cryptodacus, Cryptodacus obliquus, Diptera, Insecta, Neotropical fruit flies, Nomenclature, Reptilia, Serpentes, snakes, taxonomy, TEPHRITIDAE

The purpose of this application, under Article 23.9.3, is to conserve current usage of the well-established genus-group name Cryptodacus Hendel, 1914 for a genus of Neotropical fruit flies by suppression of the earlier, unused name Cryptodacus Gundlach, 1862, currently a junior synonym of Arrhyton Günther, 1858, a genus of snakes, under the plenary power of the Commission, in the interest of nomenclatural stability. Cryptodacus Gundlach has not been used as a valid name since 1883, whereas Cryptodacus Hendel has been used in a significant body of literature relating to fruit fly systematics, morphology and phylogeny and is the currently used name in various name and molecular databases.

Full Text

The International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature is accordingly asked: (1) to use its plenary power to suppress the generic name Cryptodacus Gundlach, 1862; for the purposes of both the Principle of Priority and the Principle of Homonymy; (2) to place on the Official List of Generic Names in Zoology the name Cryptodacus Hendel, 1914 (gender: masculine), type species by original designation Cryptodacus obliquus Hendel, 1914; (3) to place on the Official Index of Rejected and Invalid Generic Names in Zoology the name Cryptodacus Gundlach, 1862, as suppressed in (1) above.

Taxonomic Group(s): 
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith